What is CEFR?

To effectively measure language proficiency across the European Union, the Council of Europe and top European universities, developed the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

Launched in 2001, CEFR has come to be recognized as one of the most comprehensive and useful language projects ever created.

CEFR allows foreign language learners to accurately measure their proficiency against native speakers and other language learners, using an approach that goes beyond traditional language frameworks.

neo and CEFR Scale

neo Certification levels are fully aligned to the levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages:

  • neo+
    • Pre-A1, A1, A1+ A2, A2+ B1, B1+ B2, B2+, C1, C1-Bridge 
  • neoPrep+
    • Pre-A1, A1, A1+, A2, A2+, B1, B1+, B2, B2+, C1, C1-Bridge 
  • neoJr+
    • Pre-A1, A1, A1+

US State standards 

neo correlates to the US State standards shown below. Click on each link to view state level correlations.

AZELLA β€“ Arizona 

ELPA21 – AR, IA, KS, LA, NE, OH, OR, WV 

ELPAC β€“ California 

NYSESLAT β€“ New York 

TELPAS β€“ Texas 

WIDA β€“ 40 US States

For additional details please download the neo+ Scope and Sequence, the neoPrep+ Scope and Sequence, or neoJr+ Scope and Sequence.